Hello from chicago

serothis

Hello, new husky owner checking in.

I adopted the yet-to-be-named husky on wednesday and after her spaying she came home from the shelter. She's 5 months old and already 30lbs. If her paws are any indication, she's going to be HUGE. She's surprisingly calm. I'm not sure if that's because of the stress of a new place, or recovering from surgery or what but I really like it. I grew up with a GSD/lab mix, who has since passed away, so I was expecting another high energy intelligent dog. Instead I got an intelligent evil mastermind who seems to be quietly plotting her world domination.

Anyway, pictures for the peanut gallery.

DSC_0077_zps4b594eda.jpg

DSC_0069_zpsdb999573.jpg

DSC_0073_zps8155f8b4.jpg

IMAG0127_zps7a2d90b6.jpg

DSC_0083_zps84f0eabc.jpg

I swear she doesn't sleep as much as the picture might lead you to believe but I keep forgetting to take my camera outside to get pictures of her tracking squirrels when they get into the top branches of our elm trees. It's an awesome sight.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Beautiful girl. Congratulations!

Do know that her being calm is not likely to be her true identity! These huskies, which have stolen my heart for the past 17 1/2 years, are seldom easy to keep calm. Of course each husky is different, but prepare yourself for zoomies (AKA husky hot laps) throughout your home, a canine who sincerely watches for every opportunity to escape and explore the neighborhood (all the while NOT watching for cars) and one who questions your every move.

No matter what her demeanor turns out to be, know that we are here to help in any way we possibly can. Each of us is willing to share our knowledge of the breed and give advice where we can.

Let us know what you name her........personally, I think Beauty would be a fitting name!

Welcome!!!!