What to look for in dry food!!!!!

huskygirl13

So searching through different threads I noticed a threadwhich was labelled dangerous foods for your dog. This go me thinking about what foods are good for your dog and so i have decided to do a thread about what to look for in dry foods. Before i start just thought i would tell you that I am a Bsc Honours student ofAnimal Science and for the last 4 years as part of my course I have studies animal nutrition. Am only telling you this to show you that I know what i am talking about and that I am not as they say " just blowing smoke.":)

What to look for in a dry pet food:

1. Meat, more meat, and did I mention meat? Dogs are carnivores and due to this they have no evolved need for carbohydrates. When picking a dry food look for whole food sources at the very top of the ingredient list like ‘beef,’ ‘turkey,’ ‘lamb’ or ‘chicken’ -- one-word descriptions.

2. Meat and fat ingredients should be identified by species (turkey, lamb, beef, fish, etc.). Avoid any mixes that uses unidentified sources, described non-specifically as ‘meat,’ ‘animal’ or‘poultry.’

3. The next ingredient of better quality foods will probably be a meat source followed by the word ‘meal.’ Meat meal (with the meat source identified, as in ‘chicken meal’ or ‘turkey meal’) is considered a relatively high-quality protein source by processed pet food standards.

4. Ingredients three and four should be vegetables(avoid corn, wheat or beep pulp) and unless the formula is grain-free (which I recommend), a whole grain source like brown rice. Organic grains are preferable where grains are included, but they are no substitute for meat content. Avoid formulas with ‘grain fragments’ -- these are non-nutritive fillers. Grain-free formulas will frequently use potatoes as the starch, which holds the food together during processing.