Hi New Puppy And A Few Very Important Question. He Is Shy

Brockton94

Hi this is my first time at this site. I just got my first Siberian husky two days ago and he is named Meeko. Meeko is nine weeks old and very shy. I know he is nervous because this is his first time being separated from his mother and siblings. He eats and drinks and he only eliminates outside but he seems super uneasy. He sleeps inside, I don't have his crate yet but I have a den set up for him. He doesn't walk around or explore if your in the same room. He has toys he chews on but that's it. I have to carry him to take him outside, and only there will he walk around but only a little bit. And sometimes I have to carry him back in but now usually he will walk back inside. He just stays in his little corner den whenever I'm in the same room. He doesn't like to eat in front of me. He'll eat when i go upstairs or only if I wait a long time. I'm going today to get his crate and a kong toy and stuff. I just want to know if this is normal behavior and if I'm handling it right.

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Give him a week or two to get adjusted to the new area. It took Storm almost three weeks to get adjusted.  Once they adjust the shyness goes away and they will be just fine!  If you're crate training, make sure to keep fun things in there so they think it's fun.  We can be anywhere in the house if i say "go to your house" to /my two they sprint for their crates lol.  But, you're doing fine. just give him a little space and love, keep the potty training going and he'll come around.

I agree, imagine you're being put in a different home all of a sudden, it's new and kind of scary on your own :) Elai was even afraid of the street and wouldn't dare to walk on it. But with a lot of patience and lots of love he'll come out of his shell before you know it. Good luck!