New Puppy Need Some Help :d

singeaninja

Hey everyone,

I just got a 3 month old puppy and need some general guidelines to follow. I've found some information online but it isn't as structured as i need it to be. Its my first time raising one and i have little knowledge besides anything i may have googled.

I would like to house train her but am finding 'crate training' a tad confusing. Am i meant to keep it caged up and only release for potty and play time or do i let her spend little time in the crate?

The other issue is, that i've been keeping her outside for the last 3 days and she's finding it hard (scared?) to come back in. It takes either lots of calling or disappearing so she comes looking for me to get her inside. I really wanted her to be an 'inside dog' that spends time with the family rather than all alone outside, especially at night.

How exactly should i be spending my time with my dog? 

I've thought maybe when im home, blocking of the path outside of a room when im in it and let the puppy roam in the little room? or should i put her in the crate?

Should i be sleeping with the crate also? ultimately i want the dog to be able to share my bed but to avoid accidents i need to potty train her first. Also, when inside or outside for that matter should i keep her leashed? iv found she sticks to me more when on a lead and explores first without, then maybe comes back to me xD

Can someone give me a general example as to what i should be doing?

e.g

wake up, take of out crate to potty outside

bring her back into crate? or let her roam as a 'reward'?

if im home all day do i crate her or let her walk around with me w/without a leash

Thanks for the long read! All insights are greatly appreciated!!

My advice would be to look at the training advice given in this forum. Look at the training given that suits you and your puppies situation and stick with it even when it does not feel like its working.