Breeder Upset Me

sibe1

I was just blasted by a "reputable breeder" !  She told me that I should not own huskies because my husband and I work outside the home.  "Huskies need constant attention from their humans" !  I have a very well behaved 3 year old husky and a 12 week old puppy !  The behaved 3 year old didn't just happen, it took hours and hours of work to get him to this point.  I started training the puppy on day one, he can now sit, still learning house training, but is doing much better than a week ago. 

We do work 8 hours a day for 5 days a week, the dogs are left by themselves, one in the yard and the puppy in a crate for 2 hours at a time.  I have someone come in and let the puppy out to potty every two hours.  My husband and I are home at lunch for an hour, the dogs are running and playing during that time.  In the morning they play and/or walk for two hours, in the evening it is training time, play time and more walks.  They keep us very busy !

I really don't know why she upset so badly, am I being selfish for having two siberians, is it fair to them?  She would not have let me have one of her pups because we work, I really wasn't looking at her puppies, just started a conversation.  My two came from another breeder. 

I decided to ask the experts on this site what they thought. I really would like your opinions.

Thanks !

Woah, that was a bit harsh.  Whilst it's true that huskies are companion animals and don't like to be left along for long periods of time, there are plenty of us who work the standard 9-5 shift and who also keep both happy and much loved huskies.  It's unrealistic to expect everyone to be around all the time, if you and your dogs are happy then that's what matters most. :)