Hi All. First Time Listerner. First Time Caller.

HuskyDawgDad

Hello all.  I have had dogs of various types all of my life.  My family and I are getting our first huskies in just a few weeks.  Below is a picture of the new pups. 

A little about myself, I am a work at home Dad with a wife and two daughters.  Because I work at home, I hope to minimize the destructive tendencies of my new huskies.  I just recently put down my Australian shepherd so I have plenty of experience with high energy, needy dogs.

A couple of questions for the group.  What are the best ways to occupy huskies to keep them from being board?  My Aussie was a frisbee dog so a few trips outside a day to catch frisbee kept him entertained.  From what I can tell, huskies are not really fetch kind of dogs.

For those who have 'husky proofed' their fence, what method works best?  I saw a post about using wire and concrete, but don't want to do that much destruction around the edges of my fence.  I was wondering if using a fine mesh steel lath would work just as well.  at 7.00/8ft sheet,  I can do my whole yard for around 125.00.  It should allow the grass to grow but keep digging pups from digging out.

Last question, why does everyone look at me like I am high for getting two at once?  Our thought was that two would keep each other occupied better than just one.

Jamie

post-13114-0-44992300-1433708675_thumb.j

Welcome to the pack , it's usually easier to get one pup at a time so you can focus on just training one specially as they'll both need separate training sessions n walks to stop them getting too attached to each other so as not to cause separation anxiety if anything heaven forbid happened to one

Welcome. [emoji3]

Huskies are intelligent dogs and do well learning new tricks and mental mind games to help occupy their minds. Some don't like to play fetch but others do, depends on their mood at the time. Lol.