posting on behalf of smokey

Sarah

have just read smokey's blog and think our members could help (taken from http://www.husky-owners.com/forum/index.php?/blog/21/entry-55-questions-advice-help/)

Hi everyone,

I have several questions. I am new to the doggy owning world and through research have realized how much of a challenge owning a husky can be. Please help me be a responsible owner by answering my questions.

1. Smokey has really runny stools. I feed him 1 cup of Blue Buffalo in the morning (8am) and evening (5:00pm). Sometimes he gets random treats like cheese, doggy biscuits, boiled chicken breasts, yogurt, strawberries, baby carrots, etc. Any advice?

2. Smokey and I go walking at least once a day for at least an hour. What is a good pace and is that a decent amount of exercise?

3. Is there any real way to get Smokey to ignore rabbits, squirrels, birds, lizards etc?

4. I live in Las Vegas. It gets hot here in the summer (100-120 for weeks on end). How can I protect Smokey from this heat, keep him hydrated and exercise him? He is an outdoor only dog.

5. How can I tell if Smokey is a happy dog? I have a genuine fear/phobia of being a terrible doggy owner.

6. Smokey is learning to do tricks/obey commands. For the most part he has gotten some stuff down: sit, down, leave it, shake, roll over, stay, go, come here...I want to continue. I only do positive reinforcement and it is in 15minute intervals probably about 2 to 3 times daily. He is really stubborn and I'd say he listens about 50% of the time and if that with a lot of growls and anger even though he knows what I am asking him to do. Is it hard on a husky to do obedience training?

7. I have tried to let him roam around off leash but it scared the bujeezies out of me even though he did come back to me. Has anyone been successful with a husky off leash?